Research within the ARC Research Hub for Future Fibres is divided into three Programs:

Program 1: Short Fibres and Nanofibres

This program focuses on development of the emerging short fibre and nanofibre industry. Short fibres and nanofibres have very high surface to volume ratio and have found application in diverse areas including high performance filtration, energy generation and storage devices, and tissue engineering scaffolds. Research will include expansion of the range of polymer systems which can be processed, and enabling scale-up of manufacturing platforms.

Industrial Partner:

  • HeiQ Pty Ltd

Chief Investigators:

  • Professor Tong Lin
  • Associate Professor Joselito Razal
  • Associate Professor Jingliang Li
  • Associate Professor Luke Henderson
  • Dr Alessandra Sutti
  • Dr Nolene Byrne

Research Fellows:

  • Dr Marzieh Parhizkar
  • Dr Surya Subianto
  • Dr Amol Patil
  • Dr Charanpreet Singh
  • Dr Nathan Thompson

Program 2: Carbon fibre composites

This program focuses on advanced development of high performance carbon fibre reinforced composite materials. These materials, with the combination of high strength and light weight, are playing critical roles in advanced aerospace, renewable energy and civil engineering structures.

Industrial Partners:

  • Carbon Revolution Pty Ltd
  • Quickstep Automotive Pty Ltd

Chief Investigators:

  • Professor Russell Varley
  • Professor Bronwyn Fox
  • Associate Professor Joselito Razal
  • Associate Professor Luke Henderson
  • Dr Minoo Naebe
  • Dr Nolene Byrne
  • Dr Mandy de Souza

Research Fellows/Engineers:

  • Dr Steven Agius
  • Dr Sima Kashi
  • Mr Ned Volk
  • Mr Dale Atwell

Program 3: High value-added applications

This program focuses on high value-added applications for fibres; development of a complete prosthetic device for damaged eardrum reconstruction, and development of comfortable and abrasion resistant protective apparel.

Industrial Partners:

  • Ear Science Institute Australia Inc.
  • Draggin Jeans Pty Ltd

Chief Investigators:

  • Dr Rangam Rajkhowa
  • Dr Christopher Hurren

Research Fellows:

  • Dr Ben Allardyce
  • Dr Mingwen Zhang